Pennsylvania This guide to lemon law can help you understand your rights and whether your vehicle manufacturer may be eligible for a full refund or a new car.
How to know if you have a lemon:
Follow this checklist to see if your vehicle can be classified as a lemon:
- My vehicle has a defect that damages its use, value and / or safety.
- The mistake was not due to my negligence or alteration to the vehicle.
- The mistake was the first year or 12,000 miles after receiving the vehicle.
- I brought the vehicle to the manufacturer to fix the bug.
- Repair facility failed to repair vehicle after 3 attempts or my vehicle was out of service for 30 days or more.
If you think you have a lemon:
If you have checked (or even most of the above) the above checkboxes, then you have the right to return your vehicle or new replacement vehicle. As a next step, it is advisable to consult with a lemon law professional if you really have a claim and how to proceed best.
Questions About the Pennsylvania Lemon Act:
Q: Are rented vehicles covered?
A: All vehicles that were leased after Pennsylvania on February 11, 2002 were subject to PA lemon law.
Q: Are vehicles used under PA lemon law?
A: Used vehicles may be covered by the manufacturer if you have left a warranty when you purchased the vehicle, or if you have been "certified" by the manufacturer or seller, and have made at least one warranty claim before the warranty expires.
Q: How to avoid buying a car that was / was not a lemon?
A: Pennsylvania lemon law requires that a car dealer notify you in writing of your vehicle, and that you have received your signatures and that you are in good standing with your history.
Q: How much will it cost and get my vehicle refunded?
A: Many lemon law professionals will provide free services and pay for your vehicle manufacturer.