Families across the country have suffered domestic violence. The growing problem is that it can be a tragedy for everyone involved. The term domestic violence is often used to describe spousal violence, but the issue is much larger than that.
The term includes a variety of abuse, and children can also be victims. In Pennsylvania, the law reflects the complexity of etiquette and there are many different charges related to crime.
There is no charge in the criminal code for "domestic violence" or "domestic abuse" in Pennsylvania. Instead, it is defined as one of two or more violent or dangerous crimes between two or more people sharing a particular type of relationship.
Not. According to the Cons. State. § 6102, for domestic abuse, the accused may be the victim of a husband, wife, boyfriend, girlfriend, or life partner. If both were previously included in any form, the deadline could still apply.
The abuse may also have occurred with the accused and someone who lived there, such as a mother, father, son, current sex partner, or former partner. It may include other relatives related to blood or marriage.
One of the most common charges of abuse is domestic assault. Assault means intentionally causing harm or injuring another person. The common assault suffered in Pennsylvania could be a second-degree felony, which could lead to a two-year prison sentence and a $ 2,000 fine.
However, in the event of serious bodily harm, the prosecution could face a first-degree felony for aggravated assault, which carries a prison sentence of up to 20 years and a $ 25,000 fine.
When parents are involved in domestic violence, whether the child is physically abused or not, they may still be the victim. Endangering the welfare of children is a serious crime. Being involved in domestic abuse means that your parent or guardian has not been protected.
The only case of endangering a child's welfare is a first-degree felony, leading to a five-year prison sentence and a $ 5,000 fine. However, if there is an at-risk model and it can be proven, the charges could be increased to a third-degree felony, a seven-year prison sentence and a $ 15,000 fine.
Removal of charges could also be subject to domestic violence, if the accused repeatedly follows or communicates with the victim in a manner that causes bodily harm or stress. The charge is a first-degree felony, resulting in a five-year prison sentence and a $ 10,000 fine.
Victims of domestic violence have the opportunity to defend themselves, including protective orders. Those charged with the crime should also contact a domestic violence lawyer. The process can be heart-wrenching for everyone involved, but a qualified lawyer can help.